Meet Alexandra B. - NYC Team

Where are you originally from and why did you become a doula?

I grew up in Great Barrington, Massachusetts and moved to Brooklyn in 2011. I became a doula after years of nannying for infants and supporting families. I felt drawn to providing my community more support, advocacy, and autonomy throughout their family building journeys.

Do you specialize in a particular area of newborn care? (ie: sleep training, development, etc)

Infant feeding/lactation and infant soothing.

What do you enjoy about working with new families and newborns?

I enjoy watching families come into their own. Parents are also born when babies are born! I think honoring the individual's unique journey and supporting someone as they step into their power as a new parent is truly magical to witness. More than oxytocin-filled newborn snuggles I love getting the opportunity to listen to clients. They don't always have the chance to vent to care providers or even family members, so being able to provide an unbiased ear free of judgement is very special to me.

What's your Top 5 Registry Must Haves for new parents?

1) A postpartum doula

2) Haakaa breast "pump"

3) Witch hazel pads and/or sitz bath

4) A freezer full of nutritious meals

5) Onesies and pajamas with zippers (easier than snaps or tedious buttons!)

If there was one thing you wish everyone knew about doulas (birth or postpartum), what would it be?

That doulas are for families and not beholden to care providers or institutions. We are there to be the puzzle pieces of community outside of one's medical industrial complex and family.

How would you characterize your approach to newborn care and working with new mothers?

My approach to working with newborns and new parents lies in meeting people where they're at. I never impress preferences or rules onto new families, I make sure that I read their needs and help guide them so they may meet their goals with confidence.

What do you enjoy outside of Doula work?

When I’m not attending a birth or supporting postpartum families, I enjoy long bike rides, roller skating, adventures with my puppy, and cooking unnecessarily large meals to share with my friends.

Share a fun fact about yourself!

As a child I was an award winning violinist!